Well, here I am again. It’s been a while. I honestly never meant to leave for so long, but never mind. I’m back now.

So, what happened? I’ll tell you what happened. I started exam year. And it’s no joke.

Not that I’ve noticed a significant increase in homework, I do seem to be spending a lot more time working than not, if you see what I mean. “Quite right too,” I hear you say. “Young whippersnapper…” All I can say is, it makes writing this story and blog of mine dashed difficult, if you get my drift. Guitar, too. I play guitar, but you wouldn’t think it, when you consider that I haven’t had chance to so much as pick up a guitar for the past three weeks.

I’m writing my novel, too – or trying to. I’m sure you know the feeling: where you know what’s going to happen in the narrative, and yet it doesn’t quite come out. Can’t string two words together in a sentence.

I found my old Latin folder, which I stopped using because the sheer volume of the sheets I had for my Latin GCSE were enough to make it creak, which is really not a reassuring noise for a ring binder to make. I have now turned it into my notes for all the novels I want to write. Everyone wants to write novels, don’t they? It takes real dedication to actually do it. A long time ago, my friends and I organized a writing competition, with a deadline seven years later to give us chance to really knuckle down and write it well. Nearly five years on, I am no nearer to finishing it than I was then. It makes you wonder, “Will I ever finish it? Or will I just spend the rest of my life thinking about it and longing for it to be real?”

So, just an update on my life. It’s holiday time next week so I’ll hopefully write a less disorganized entry then.

P.S. Basil Rathbone! How did I never see the Basil Rathbone Sherlock Holmes films before this summer?! How?! They are now my (almost) undisputed favourites. If you haven’t seen them, do. It’s worth it. Absolutely amazing.

Leave a comment

October 20, 2013 · 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

